MAV AGM and appointment of 2017-2018 MAV Council

This email contains graphics. If you don't see them, view it in your browser.


Web banner special announcement

On Tuesday 16th May The MAV held its AGM at the National Sports Museum. It was a great turnout with nearly 50 attending, including 32 voting members.

During the AGM special thanks were given to Marj Horne for her service as Immediate Past President and 8 years on the Council, and to Elizabeth Burns, June Penney and Max Stephens for each serving their 5 years on the MAV Council. Thanks also to the other departing Councilors, Frances Sidari, Oliver Lovell, Rhys Coulson, Trevor Faure, Rhiannon Lowrey.

Michaela EpsteinAn election was held for the position of President, and The MAV is pleased to announce the appointment of Michaela Epstein to this position.

Michaela is excited about the opportunities and challenges ahead; “Mathematics education is broadly represented in the new MAV Council for 2017-18, with Councilors coming from schools, universities, the not-for-profit-sector and social enterprise. Together with Council and staff, in the role of President, I am looking forward to supporting and working with the MAV community. I strongly believe in promoting mathematics so that it may be accessible and valued by all.

Jim Spithill was thanked for taking the MAV forward in his role as President over the past three years and is pleased to continue his involvement as Immediate Past President “During my period as President I have greatly enjoyed working with Council members and staff. They bring a wealth of experience to our discussions and planning, as well as a great sense of ‘stewardship’ of the history and ideals of the MAV. It is exciting to see so many of the next generation of members coming forward onto the 2017–2018 Council. Long may the MAV prosper.

The 2017 to 2018 MAV Council was appointed as follows:

President: Michaela Epstein (Maths Pathway)

Immediate Past President: Jim Spithill (ACER)

Vice President: Felicity Furey  (Machinam/The Power of Engineering)

Vice President: Patricia Jelbart (Victoria University)

Council Members:
Daniel Cloney (ACER)
Claire Delaney (Lalor Secondary College)
Ann Downton (Monash University)
James Gray (Peter Lalor Secondary College)
Peter Karakoussis (St Kevins College)
Allason McNamara (Trinity Grammar School)
Terence Mills (Deakin University)
Thomas Moore (Lilydale High School)
Michael O’Connor (AMSI)

As a member-based Association, The MAV encourages you to provide input to the activities of the MAV either directly to us, or through your Council representatives. If you would like to get in contact with any of the Council members, for privacy reasons we ask that you contact the office and we can verify your membership and put you in touch. You can always reach us at: or call 9380 2399.

A special thank you to the National Sports Museum (NSM) for subsidizing such a great venue for the AGM, and for their partnership in launching the NSM walk now available in the Made by Maths app.



facebook linkedin twitter youtube

Follow us on Facebook Shop MAV Resources Visit the MAV website

The Mathematical Association of Victoria. 61 Blyth Street Brunswick, Victoria 3056
Telephone: +613 9380 2399     Facsimile: +613 9389 0399     Email:

Not interested any more?